What outside forces do I need to contend with?

When you’re looking at your sales career, there are a lot of outside forces at play. Which is a lot like sailing – the wind, current, tides, boat traffic (pleasure & commercial), and we haven’t even mentioned where you’re trying to get to.

Which is why the first question to ask yourself is:

What outside forces
do I need to contend with?

My experience shows there are four main categories I need to consider when answering that question for myself.

Personal “What Are”

  •     all the fun things that will be a distraction?
  •     the monumental events that are going to take place this year?
  •     my current “happenings” that are stressing me out?

Professional “How”

  •     am I going to make goal?
  •     will my boss react to _________?
  •     can I get around this obstacle?

Corporate “Who”

  •     are the players I have to answer to?
  •     am I worried about judging my performance?
  •     is helping or hindering my progress?

Prospect & Customer “Why”

  •     don’t they call me back?
  •     am I spending my time on this account?
  •     haven’t I earned their trust?

These are some examples for you; your personal questions might be different. Take a moment to figure out What outside forces do I need to contend with? Then take the appropriate action.

Leave a Reply

